Guest Reviews of GreenahView

Back Garden Panorama

The back garden looks out over the surrounding hills, from neighbouring Binsey (on the right) to mighty Skiddaw (on the left).

Back to Home Page

GUEST REVIEWS

Write a Review

alan , Karen and Luna - September 2019

We stayed here for a week, and I can only say what a fabulous place to stay. It is by far the best and most well equipped cottage we have stayed in. All the lovely little touches, comfy beds , beautiful location, super dog friendly and everything you need to feel like you are home from home. fabulous pub a 2 min walk away with delicious food, close to some lovely beaches and walks. We will definitely return

Thank you


Joyce James - October 2018

I spent a very enjoyable week with friends in Greenah View in October 2018. The first thing to strike me when I arrived was how spacious the cottage was. It also turned out to be beautifully furnished, generously equipped and spankingly clean, a real pleasure to discover and then to come home to after a day out. Situated in the northern Lakes, the village of Uldale with iits working farms gives you an idea of Lakeland country life away from the tourist crowds. We enjoyed watching the cows making their way past the end of the drive to and from their grazing grounds. At the same time the heart of the Lakes is very easily accessible and the local countryside offers many beautiful walks and drives. The large well kept garden has open views to the hills and plenty of tables and chairs for alfresco relaxation. All in all, an excellent holiday home.


Hugh and Barbara - April 2018

This was our second visit to Greenah View, and it was even nicer this time. There are some lovely antiques and artwork in the house, but it still maintains a cosy cottage atmosphere, friendly rather than grand, despite the main bedroom (a very fine room with light coming in from both sides) having a four-poster bed that is the biggest and most magnificent bed we have ever slept in. The twin room (that we slept in on this visit, letting the other couple in our party have the four-poster) is also very comfortable.

The living room is just a nice place to be, arranged round a fireplace with comfortable chairs. It's bright and warm. The kitchen has all mod cons but feels traditional, with touches like the antique musket mounted on an oak beam and a rack of pretty blue and white china.

On the practical side, there is a stone-flagged entrance hall where you can take off your boots and wet clothes after walking, with a big clothes cupboard for coats and so on, something a lot of cottages lack. There is both a shower downstairs and a bathroom upstairs (I liked the picture made from the wall tiles), so you don't have to compete over who gets to wash first.

Uldale itself is a attractive and friendly village. You can find great walking country just by stepping out of the door.


M Butler - April 2018

We spent a wonderful week at this cosy, comfortable and extremely clean cottage. The welcome pack of local goods was a wonderful surprise and gratefully received. The area is very quiet at night (so a restful sleep was had) and for us townies it was great to hear the cows, during the evening, at the farm near by.

The cottage garden was well maintained and the vista was outstanding. Despite the inclement weather we made a point of going outside to enjoy this feature.

The cottage is in a very friendly small village, but despite its size it has a very good pub that sells high quality food at a reasonable price. The pub is a five minute (or less) walk from the cottage.

Having two bathrooms was a real bonus for getting out of a morning and on our return the cottage was always warm despite snow outside on some days. We were able to park two cars just in front of the cottage. For us this cottage scored 10 out of 10 due to its location, ambience and high quality features, we will certainly be booking it again.


Mary Darke - January 2018

I spent a short winter break at Greenah View in mid-January. I found a splendidly warm and cosy cottage which I would thoroughly recommend. It is spacious, even boasting enough room in the hallway for two arm chairs for ease in putting on one's boots - a thoughtful gesture, much appreciated! All the rooms are of good size. The main bedroom is dominated by a dramatic four-poster bed, and has superb views across the hills. There are two bathrooms. But the outstanding feature is the care with which the entire cottage has been decorated and furnished. Interesting oils, watercolours and sketches are tastefully scattered throughout, as are numerous fascinating antiques - I particularly liked a couple of pint-sized wooden tables - and everything is in keeping, so you find yourself staying in a period cottage yet with all modern conveniences. The kitchen is well-equipped should you wish to cook, but there is an excellent gallery and tea room a few minutes walk away and a couple of good pubs within very easy distance. Uldale is extremely quiet and peaceful. If you choose to visit Greenah View you won't be disappointed.


J and A and family - October 2017

Really can't fault your house at all, you have thought of everything! We thought the beds were fabulously comfy and really warm, great heating, loads of hot water, lovely bathrooms.

We would love to come back!

Really enjoyed the tearoom, good dinner at the pub and great place to go for a drink.

We even got to visit the milking parlour at the dairy farm - everyone we met has been lovely.

Thank you so much for a lovely stay and also the delicious welcome pack!


Jane and Chris and family - May 2017

We so enjoyed our stay in your beautiful cottage! You have really thought of everything and the beds are so comfortable. We had a lovely cup of tea sitting outside, admiring your super garden and planning our time. That evening we cooked a sausage and had a tasty tea. Everything is well placed and the kitchen equipment all works perfectly. We lit a fire and did enjoy sitting round this. We did put some money in the honesty box which is an excellent idea to cover for the wood (and Chris did enjoy trying the lakeside malt - I also make a short phone call).

On Saturday, the day was warm and sunny so we went to Keswick and hired a motor boat which the boys loved, £18 for 30 mins. In the afternoon, I relaxed in Mae's cafe while Paul went for a jog up one of the hills. That night we walked to Emily's Black Lion and had a tasty tea.

We were intrigued when the blue rope went up over the entrance to the courtyard and saw to our delight the cows walk by for milking. A real treat for us townies.

All in all we had a super time and will most certainly want to go back.


Pat and Sarah and family - April 2017

We are now home after a delightful few days in and around Uldale. It is a stylish, comfortable and cosy cottage and we found it well equipped and thought out.

We love your decor and furniture; kitchen and bathrooms were easy to use and well equipped - crockery, glasses, etc all lovely. We all found the beds comfortable - it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Thank you very much - we had great fun.


Laura, Murray and family - April 2017

What a fantastic place to spend our Easter break. Greenah View is a real "home from home" exuding comfort. The kitchen is superbly equipped. Although the mobiles had no signal, which was a welcome relief, the kids were pleased to find that the wifi works well in every room - sanity restored and mutiny averted. The rear garden was a lovely environment to sit out and enjoy the sun - yes, it was even warm! We loved the many thoughtful touches, such as the boxes of tissues in helpful places and the exquisite furniture and art work. Greenah View really is a special place set in lush farmland, well placed to explore the northern end of the lakes, and the Solway coast too. We look forward to making a return trip.

Back to Home Page

END OF REVIEWS

Booking